Duke Central Automated Laboratory (DCAL)

The Duke Central Automated Laboratory at Duke University Hospital is a College of American Pathologist (CAP) accredited, CLIA certified, state of the art, multidisciplinary laboratory that is dedicated to providing patients and physicians with comprehensive and accurate Chemistry, Hematology and Coagulation testing.

DCAL employs a high through put automation line that can process over 1,000 samples each hour. Attached to this line are Beckman chemistry and immunoassay analyzers and ACL TOP coagulation analyzers.  Hematology testing is performed on a separate hematology automation line using Sysmex instruments and cellaVision digital microscopy for the analysis and review of manual differentials.

DCAL is also the central processing hub for all testing performed by our Duke Hospital Laboratories.  Caring for our Duke Hospital in-patients and clinic patients, this laboratory operates 24/7 to process thousands of samples each day while maintaining turn around times in the high 90%s for the great majority of testing performed. 

     
Contact Us

     We are always available to answer your questions. Please contact us for more information about our services or for help ordering tests or understanding your results

     Details about all of the tests performed by DCAL can be found here: Test Catalog: DCAL

 

Contact Us

(919) 681-1398
Wadsworth Bldg, Rm 0220, 2351 Erwin Rd
Durham, NC, 27705
Phone: 919-681-1398 | Fax: 919-681-7786
CLIA Director: Michael Datto MD PhD (CLIA: 34D0696636)
 

Our Leadership Team

Sivonne Seuraj
Laboratory Manager
(919) 613-9420
Sivonne.Seuraj@duke.edu
Bruce Lobaugh PhD
Laboratory Director
(919) 681-6335
Bruce.Lobaugh@duke.edu
Chad McCall MD PhD
Medical Director, Hematology
(919) 684-2429
Chad.McCall@duke.edu
Thomas Ortel MD PhD
Medical Director, Coagulation
(919) 684-5350
Thomas.Ortel@duke.edu
Roderick White
Laboratory Supervisor
(919) 613-9454
Roderick.White@duke.edu
Menalisa Ranosa
Laboratory Supervisor
(919) 684-1036
Menalisa.Ranosa@duke.edu

Charles Stewart
Laboratory Supervisor
Coagulation
(919) 684-3425
Charles.Stewart@duke.edu

Natasha Rogers
Laboratory Supervisor
Specimen Management
(919) 613-9431
Natasha.Jenkins@duke.edu